Home > News > Economics Nobel and Elinor Ostrom
158 views 53 sec 0 Comment

Economics Nobel and Elinor Ostrom

- October 15, 2012

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel has gone to Alvin Roth and Lloyd Shapley. The latter is known to political scientists primarily for the Shapley-Shubik power index, developed in this 1954 American Political Science Review article. This index is still used frequently in applications and is one of his three most cited articles according to Scholar Google, although he appears to have gotten the prize for his work on matching methods.

Today at 3pm, Indiana University will livestream a celebration of the lives of Vincent and Elinor Ostrom who both passed away this summer. Elinor Ostrom won the Nobel prize in 2009.